top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIN.courage team

Ignorance is not bliss

Hi guys! Welcome back to Black Chat! Sorry for no upload last week it's been kind of crazy with the current corona virus and making sure I keep myself safe and healthy! I hope everyone is staying well and washing your hands and sanitary washes to stay safe! Please make sure to keep clear from mass social gatherings and to look after your mental wellbeing at such a high stress time! Anyway, back to Black Chat Today I wanted to come and talk about stereotyping races. This feels very fitting as sadly a vast amount of hate and racist comments have been made towards Chinese and other Asian races. Sadly ignorance is still a cause of so much hate towards races. As of a few months ago when the corona virus hit I have seen some really sad stories of this. Growing up, people, usually white people would say back handed comments at me thinking it was ok, when in reality it was hurtful and offensive. They would say things such as "you're pretty for a black girl" or "your hair is actually kind of nice", another one I got a lot was "How is your mum white? You must be adopted!" These may seem crazy if you aren't familiar with them, however for many people this is reality. I'm not blaming the whole white community for this! I have a white mother and half of my family is white and I have white friends who are so amazing! Though, this was especially common with them. When your told these things, your meant to take them as a compliment (or so I was told), though that wasn't what it was at all. Now I'm older I have got so much more confidence in myself and body and skin I know I am a beautiful person inside and out. My skin or my hair doesn't define me, it inspires me. To be a role model for young people of colour and people who don't feel comfortable in there own skin. I wish I would have felt better those years ago, because I hated myself a lot and didn't look after my wellbeing. I wish I could go back and tell younger me to love my skin and love my chubby cheeks! Please don't let anyone tell you your race or anything limits your beauty, it empowers you to shine bright. In such a low time in the world at the moment, please watch what you are saying, if any of this is familiar with you saying this. You're not a bad person, you just need to educate yourself. Everyone is more than a label. More than nationality, race, age, sexuality. We are all human and all so beautiful the way we are. I guess what I wanted you to get from this is, to know your not alone. We are here to support you. BE A girl IN.courage! Side note: If you have or are experiencing any of this, this isn't just for girls of colour but any girl to escape from everyday! Please feel free to contact any one on our team on our social media accounts or drop an email to us! We want to be here to support you. Stay well, lots of warm love! Ellie at IN.courage xoxo

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The inspiration behind my peace

Hey everyone! Welcome to #Blackchat Tuesday and to the first ever one! Today I wanted to sit and talk about a time when I felt so amazing to be a young woman of colour. Let's go back to a time when I

Story time?!

This is the space we will post our own personal experiences and struggles and euphoric moments here! Head over to our social media to get involved in the chat. This will be where our Tuesday #BlackCha

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page